Happy August!!!!!!!

August 2, 2010 at 10:07 pm (General News..., Grumble, Introduction to the Imagination of Amanda M. Holt, Literary blunders..., Possible directions..., Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

So…………………
……………………Happy August!!!!

Day One of my new lifestyle and dieting habits began yesterday….I am currently boiling baby carrots. As with all dieting fads/phases I have gone through, while I am EVER optimistic, I sense that this one too shall pass.

I will not be thwarted!!!! I want ever SOOOO badly to once again fit into my plaid pants from Le Chateau! It would be a God-awful shame if I never got to wear those pants again! I also have a FABULOUS floor length plaid wool skirt….assorted other goodies I discovered while unpacking and repacking my world for the move from Ste. Rose du Lac, MB to my current residence, and from my current residence to my upcoming residence in Northern Manitoba.

Adventure, adventure, I embrace you with enthusiasm, though I know not your name or the entirety of your nature!!!!

So yes, did the Fam-Dam-ily weekend thing, it went incredibly well — saw a lot of old familiar faces, met some new people (distant relatives) and was eventually tormented by polka music…..Don’t get me wrong, it looks like a lot of fun, but the shrieking of the fiddles are like a sawmill to my brains!!!! I have a great deal of difficulty enduring fiddles……they are a migraine waiting to happen.

Had some amazing beat-rolls (beat nicks?) at the Ukrainian themed supper at my grandparents’ 65th Wedding Anniversary, and the tenderest most sinfully perfect perogies you have ever had the opportunity to delight in! My Aunt Sherry’s sweet and sour meatballs were, as usual, perfect (my brother is going to be envious for a while, as they are his favorite and he was not able to attend the festivities), and my Aunt Donna’s pickles were perhaps the best batch she has ever made!!!!

Yesterday we had (phoentically doing this, as I know NOT the Ukrainian spelling) soo-kah-hree where we ate the leftovers, and ended the day with a fabulous boat ride. The younger and more courageous daredevils of our family wakeboarded and tubed behind a boat on Lake Winnipegosis. Exploration of the island we docked at was a must, and I must admit, I was moved by the beauty of the location —- perhaps it will inspire one of my stories in the near future. I am itching to write about a serial killer who moors his victims or something like that…..we shall see….

As for my writing, I have done little to none of it for the past week. Tonight’s writing will take the form of a letter in Deutsch to my dear friend Hauke, and perhaps I will finally make some progress on the Dark Field series that I have created???????

Once again, Happy August!!!!

Sincere regards,

Amanda M. Holt

p.s. my 31st birthday is on Friday the 13th of this month, and is also the day that I am SUPPOSED to be moving to my new residence. HOW COOL IS THAT?????

p.p.s. – haven’t heard back from NCP yet on whether or not they want to publish BOUND: A Post-Apocalyptic Lust Story, my tale of the jungle warrioress Ana, an excerpt of which you can find at http://www.amandamholt.com !!!!!!

Leave a Reply

