Point A to Point B may not be a straight line…

June 16, 2010 at 4:25 am (General News..., Grumble, Introduction to the Imagination of Amanda M. Holt, Possible directions..., Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

So…………………………………………………
……………………………………………………opportunities are presenting themselvs from a number of locations, but here’s the dilemma:

A. Love my new apartment, but there are limited employment opportunities in this area for GNs/BNs/RNs.
B. The Community Health Nurse Development Program in the NWT has cancelled/postponed applications, due to lack of funding.
C. Feeling a certain degree of restlessness. Wondering if I should push my envelope a little more, exercise my options, take some (small and reasonable) risks.
D. Coming to the conclusion that I would have to be INSANE to think that I could handle the role of charge nurse in an ER environment immediately after graduation.
E. There might (MIGHT) be a possibility (read: possibility) of working as a public health nurse or community health nurse in STI prevention, which is EXACTLY where I want to be in my career path (the only question is, how much experience should one accumulate prior to chasing down one’s dreams with all the fervor of a rabid rabbit???).

Okay, that is multiple dilemmas, and there are more…

…Haven’t done any writing in the last few days, and that is n my conscience. Haven’t done any lengthy studying either, but that is because I don’t want to re-injure my neck so soon after making a full recovery. Studying with my laptop is an option….there’s always WebMD…and Canadian Nursing websites…

Had an EXCELLENT telephone chat with both my biological mother and surrogate mother/mother by proxy….these helped me put things in perspective….

Still, it feels as though the sands beneath my feet are shifting, and I must reposition myself to keep equilibrium, a good sound foot hold on the vast dune whose name is Challenge.

Okay….enough self-absorption for one evening.

Time to shower. It was plus 27 today at one point, and the new place was sweltering!

Sincere regards,

Amanda M. Holt

Leave a Reply

