Half-way point of Nursing Practicum………….midterm evaluation this week!!!

June 8, 2010 at 2:32 am (General News..., Grumble, Introduction to the Imagination of Amanda M. Holt, Literary blunders..., Possible directions..., Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

So…………………………………………………………………………
……………………………………………………………………………mid-term evaluation for my Nursing Practicum this week, and I admit, i am a little nervous. I know that I shouldn’t be: both of my preceptors are great, very supportive, and I have been asking for feedback regularly (READ: every single day like the neurotic insecure little nursing student I am). Yes, I need more confidence (according to my “coworkers” it will come in time). Yes, I need to pcik up my pace (admittedly, I feel I have improved in this area — second guessing myself less, and learning the routing helped alot). And I do need to practice my skills whenever the opportunities present themselves. I think I am doing well with the psychosocial aspects of client care, the nurturing, goal-setting, et cetera, et cetera……………..

Now if only I could memorize every step to every procedure and every aspect of every medication and every preference of every client 🙂 Why can’t our brains work like instantly-accessible storage units where you just have to think of the word “SEARCH”, psychically key in the subject you are looking up, and find what it is in the recesses of your mind you are looking for????

LOL Okay, okay – enough silly self-involvement for one evening.

Time to do something constructive with the rest of my night off, like edit my sensual contemporary romance “Her Man” (I know, the title sucks with a capital SUCK) of 57, 000 words or OR or review laboratory tests and normal test range values and do some more mid term assignment work……..I DID designate tomorrow as “Finish Homework Day” though, not to be confused with “Finnish Homework Day” the day people from Finland celebrate the liberation of working from home (less of a commute that way, I hear).

Okay, I’m pulling your leg – there’s no such thing as Finnish Homework Day. Or is there? I mean the Internet is THAT bizarre these days………………………….and there’s a celebration for EVERYTHING.

(This coming from a Manitoban, where we have these things called SOCIALs…..in May we had a Manitoba Homecoming social [big party, dance, drink fest] where we celebrated the World’s Largest Social [a Manitoba-wide social]. I don’t know if we actually set or broke any records, but long story short, people from Manitoba are so sociable we delight in having sociables [Socials: wedding socials, anniversary socials, Halloween socials, fundraising socials, New Years socials, etc etc] just to prove how sociable we can be).

Ok, I did say I would stop.

Stopping now.

Sincere regards,

Amanda M. Holt

Leave a Reply

